Blessed

a humble princess, pursued by the King, in the greatest fairy tale ever written

out with the old, in with the new

on August 6, 2013

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come. -2 Corinthians 5:17

We’ll call them “Old Me” and “New Me.” They’re the forces always duking it out in my head. Old Me is very impulsive. New Me is very careful. Old Me doesn’t think about consequences. New Me spends a week thinking about the consequences of any decision I might make, before and after making said decision. We’re talking every decision. Old Me opens her mouth and lets whatever she’s thinking roll right off her tongue. New Me spends a lot of time asking God if He’ll please help her say (and think) the right thing instead of what she’s naturally thinking. I’m certainly not pretending I’m someone else, I just like to think of it as a transition time, where I go from who I naturally am in this world into who I am in Christ.

Last week one evening, I was all alone because all of my friends were busy. With no distractions at hand, I was of course thinking about the things that were bothering me. Since I was all alone, I decided that would be a prime time to stop trying to be “who I am in Christ” and really just cut loose. So I told God exactly what was on my mind. And the very next day, a prayer I didn’t even specifically ask for (I kind of ducked and dodged around it) was answered.

But it was scary. Because Old Me has a lot of information she doesn’t “need to know” and could do a lot of damage with. I didn’t ask for exactly what I wanted, but God gave me exactly what I wanted, and New Me spends a lot of time thinking about how to not mess this up because really, part of me misses being impulsive. And it’s only through constantly reading His Word and talking to Him throughout the day that I am able to change and be a better person.

3 responses to “out with the old, in with the new

  1. Yelena says:

    I know exactly what you mean – it’s that process of self-discipline, knowing that you can be so much more in Christ. In the process though, we begin to achieve those Godly characteristics or the fruits of the Spirit written about in Galatians.

    • In a non-prideful way, I really enjoy it when I can look over a situation, and realize how much differently I see things now, than when I used to. Every day of my life, I get the opportunity to show people just how much Christ can change a person. He had to humble me greatly to work in me, but I’m so grateful for the heartbreak and pain that made me turn to Him and become a better person!

      • Yelena says:

        Agreed! Sometimes, I look back and I am ashamed that I could ever believe or act in a way that I thought was Christ-like when in reality it didn’t fit with God’s word. He truly is a God of grace though, always knowing when to teach us something new, punish us or just send lots of unconditional love.

Leave a Reply

