Blessed

a humble princess, pursued by the King, in the greatest fairy tale ever written

In Christ Alone-what that means to me

on August 23, 2013

” This is love: not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins. Dear friends, since God so loved us, we also ought to love one another.” -1 John 4:10-11

1 John 4:7-21 is one of my favorite passages in the Bible. Verses 10 & 11 do a pretty good job summarizing the passage, but in the next month, I intend to have the whole passage memorized, because it’s important to me. I found this passage a couple of weeks ago, at just the right time…

In May, I came up with a design for a tattoo and I drew it on my wrist almost every day for 3 months before I finally committed to it last week . The image is a heart with a cross on top of it-the cross is thicker than the heart outline to emphasize its importance, and the bottom of the cross is inside the heart as a constant reminder to me of what love is. I found the passage in First John a couple weeks before I got the tattoo, and the verses perfectly express what I wanted to say with the image.

When I came up with the idea of the tattoo, I drew it on my wrist as a reminder to myself that:

a) that’s where my heart needs to be (hidden in Christ)

b) Christ is love & will never leave me (I had just been abandoned in life by a man I worshipped)

c) that any man who’s going to marry me will be godly- no exceptions for the men I date from here on out

I have a lot of skin to choose for tattoo placement, but I chose my left wrist because I see it 10,000 times a day when I push my hair out of my face. The initial idea of this tattoo was for myself, and only myself. I saw this as a great reminder of how my life had been before Christ, and what has happened since I’ve been working on my relationship with Him (plus I figured I don’t want to get in a superserious relationship with another non-Christian, EVER, and any guy will see this and he’d better understand it if he wants to date).

But, as time went on, I realized that others will see it too. (my parents had asked about it and if they saw the drawn-on version, then anyone can!) I thought that was pretty neat-hopefully I’ll get some opportunities to witness to strangers.

The day I made my tattoo appointment, I decided I wanted some text to go with the cross/heart image. I had found those verses in First John, but … I wanted something different with the picture. And THEN…..I heard a popular song on the radio, and I heard it with new ears. The song was “In Christ Alone,” and I cried a little when I realized just how beautiful the song is, and how it’s exactly how I want to live. Here’s the lyrics:

In Christ alone my hope is found,
He is my light, my strength, my song;
this Cornerstone, this solid Ground,
firm through the fiercest drought and storm.

What heights of love, what depths of peace,
when fears are stilled, when strivings cease!
My Comforter my All in All,
here in the love of Christ I stand.

In Christ alone, who took on flesh
Fullness of God in helpless babe!
This gift of love and righteousness
Scorned by the ones he came to save:

Till on that cross as Jesus died,
The wrath of God was satisfied –
For every sin on Him was laid;
Here in the death of Christ I live.

There in the ground His body lay
Light of the world by darkness slain:
Then bursting forth in glorious Day
Up from the grave he rose again!
And as He stands in victory
Sin’s curse has lost its grip on me,
For I am His and He is mine –
Bought with the precious blood of Christ.

No guilt in life, no fear in death,
This is the power of Christ in me;
From life’s first cry to final breath.
Jesus commands my destiny.

No power of hell, no scheme of man,
Can ever pluck me from His hand;
Till He returns or calls me home,
Here in the power of Christ I’ll stand.

So when my appointment rolled around this week, I went ahead and got the whole thing on my wrist where I am reminded 10,000 times a day how I’m trying to live my life, for the rest of my life. I want to love as Jesus loves-selflessly and wholeheartedly, unconditionally, forgiving. I want to live “in Christ alone.” And it’s a constant battle fighting my human nature, but I’ve come so far and I hope I can share His love with everyone I meet.

Image

As far as having a tattoo in a visible place “preventing me from getting a job,”-well, those simply aren’t jobs I’m interested in. So, actually, it won’t slow me down at all. Plus, I intend to explore some career fields where something like this might be a valuable asset (like…the mission field-which is everywhere, every day).

Leave a Reply

