Blessed

a humble princess, pursued by the King, in the greatest fairy tale ever written

Lesson From “Pretty Woman”

on October 15, 2013

I don’t even know how to put into words how much I love the movie Pretty Woman. For everyone that knows about my obsession with the television series Friends, I’ll put it this way: “I know the movie Pretty Woman as well as I know Friends.” That means I know every line, every song that plays in the background. I can listen to the movie while writing a paper and still picture every scene. Okay, so maybe I know all the characters a little better in Friends (Joey’s middle name is “Francis,”-those kinds of details I can rattle off without even stopping to think about them), but that’s only because there’s 10 seasons-not just a single movie. I watch about 12 episodes of Friends/week-and I watch Pretty Woman about 1.5 times/month (that’s an average).

As I was watching Pretty Woman tonight-actually eating ice cream and watching it-not exactly multitasking, I thought about my favorite part of the movie. And I came to the conclusion…I pretty much just love the whole movie.

The movie is categorized under “drama.” But, I see so much comedy in it-of course, I have a dry sense of humor and I live on sarcasm. I love when Edward and Vivian arrive at the hotel, and she gets excited about the couch in the elevator, and Edward tells the older couple waiting that it’s her “first time in an elevator.” Then there’s the part where she’s on the floor of the hotel room, watching the episode of I Love Lucy where they’re stomping the grapes, and she’s laughing freely and being herself. I find the scene at the fancy restaurant amusing as well, when she pulls the ketchup packet out and starts putting it over her steak, and the men who work there are all uptight about it. And then when they all go to the polo game, and the high society women are asking Vivian about herself, and this conversation happens: “Edward’s our most eligible bachelor. Everyone’s trying to land him.” “Well, I’m not trying to ‘land him.’ I’m just using him for sex.” Another favorite quote of mine is after the opera, when the older lady asks Vivian how she likes it, and she says, “It was so good, I almost peed my pants.” And then there’s the part where Vivian’s roommate, Kit, comes to the hotel and there’s an older couple there, and Kit says, “$50 grandpa. For $75, the wife can watch.”

But I don’t fall in love with the movie because of the comedy. I just love the story line-a beautiful girl gets lost in the world, comes across the path of a heartless man. And then, second by second, he falls in love with her-and it completely changes him. One of my favorite romantic parts of the movie is when they’re laying in bed the night after the polo game. I absolutely love the way he looks at her as she’s talking about how she came to be a prostitute. Just one wish I have for my whole life-and that wish is that someday, a man will look at me that way. So far, no guy has loved me- and nobody has looked at me like that. But I remain hopeful.

Let’s get away from plot spoilers and talk about the real message of the movie. This woman-Vivian-is completely herself, when Edward falls in love with her. She’s broken, uneducated, an emotional woman (we all are); she has no “manners” for high society living; she sings loudly in the bathtub- but Edward overlooks all those things and falls in love with the beautiful woman who could be “so much more.” We see her in a wig at the beginning of the movie, and she quickly loses it. We see her flossing in the bathroom after eating strawberries-of all the people I know in the world, I’m the only one I know of who flosses all the time. Really, I could go on and on about how similar Vivian and I are. How she’s guarded at first-stating that she does everything but kiss on the lips, because that’s too personal. But within a few days, we see them kissing-a lot of kissing. She changes her mind and lets him in and he tries to break her heart-offers to “get her off the streets,” but she realizes that he’s offering something that would only leave her lonely, due to his lifestyle of putting work before everything else-and she turns him down. She makes him pursue her, in the end. She gets that dream where he shows up and rescues her. I could learn a lot from Vivian. In a week, she has such an impact on a man that he completely changes his attitude about life, love, and happiness.

2 responses to “Lesson From “Pretty Woman”

  1. […] Lesson From “Pretty Woman” (loveslongears.wordpress.com) […]

    • I’m in complete agreement that it should never be played on a television channel directed towards families & children! However, I remember watching it when I was very young and I’ve come away with no ill effects… except that I actually believe someone someday will love me as I am… but that’s another story 🙂

Leave a Reply

