Blessed

a humble princess, pursued by the King, in the greatest fairy tale ever written

Reflection on Busyness

on December 9, 2013

This morning while I was waiting for my car to warm up to go to church (I don’t do the whole “weather thing,” but if I had to guess, I’d say the temperature was between -15 and 5 degrees), I read Psalm 46. It’s one of my very favorite passages in the Bible, and I try to read it aloud in times when I’m stressed or worried.

I choose this passage to remind myself that God is my refuge and strength. (Psalm 46:1) He bought me at a price-He knows me, He loves me, and He wants me to depend on Him and to get strength from Him. He is a refuge for me, I can go to Him at any time with any request, concern, praise, or just for a casual talk.

This part I’m fairly good at. I mean, I’m good at talking, I somehow managed to get a job where I’ll get paid to talk! It’s no problem for me to talk to God, now that I’ve taken the time to rearrange my life around Him. I’m better at asking for things and complaining than I am at praising Him, but that just gives me something to keep working on!

I read this Psalm to remind myself that there is a river whose streams make glad the city of God, the holy place where the Most High dwells. God is within her, she will not fall; God will help her at break of day. (Psalm 46: 4-5)

The river is me, and His Spirit dwells in me. These verses are such a beautiful picture of how God wants us to live- we find our refuge in Him because His Spirit lives in us! And if you think about the Holy Spirit living in you, isn’t that something you want to cultivate? I know that hit a chord in me this morning, and I thought about all the thoughts I’ve had lately that aren’t pleasing to Him. I thought about the struggles I’ve had in school this semester and how I haven’t applied myself as if working for him (Colossians 3:23). Or how I’ve spent so much money on myself and thought that my $10 to the Salvation Army made me some kind of a saint (not so much). I thought about how I’ve neglected my relationship with Him in favor of being stressed about school and trying to do so many things (at once) on my own…

The other verse that hit me this morning was Psalm 46:10: “Be still and know that I am God…”

I know this Psalm by heart, but this morning, when I came to this verse, it brought me to tears (very cold, icy tears). I wondered, when was the last time I was still before God? I mean, I’m even multitasking right now as I write this blog.

And then I thought…what if it’s my constant multitasking that’s causing me to be so stressed out lately? I mean, here I am going to 4 classes- 2 of which include several hours of work outside of class every week, and on top of that, I work 2 jobs and I try to get as close to 20+ work hours as I can every week. I spend my Thursday nights at a collegiate church service, and I spend my Monday nights in a discipleship session with a friend. Tuesday and Wednesday evenings, and sometimes even Thursday after church, I try to spend quality time with my friends, but even that has been stressful lately. Chat sessions have turned into, “You talk and I’ll listen while I work on homework” sessions. And a negative attitude about my classes has permeated all of my conversations as of late (yuck). I drive to my parents’ nearly every weekend to relax with my beloved animals, but sometimes, my parents expect me to spend time with them, too! And it’s always one thing on top of another (like 10 things at once), even when I just want to sit in the pasture and cuddle with a donkey and a puppy for an entire Saturday afternoon. (Let’s be honest: that’s what I’d like to do every afternoon, but I’m just counting down to my retirement days for that!)

Maybe I’m not supposed to be this busy. I think if I took a minute-or an hour-to be still before God every day (instead of “when I have time”), then I would be a happier person. And I’ll bet some of this school stuff would manage to sort itself out if I remembered that God is first and school is not.

And there’s no better time to start than right now. So tonight when I do my Bible reading, I’m going to make sure to reflect for more time than “a commercial break.” I’m going to do my discipleship study with the television off. I’m going to set my alarm in the morning to allow me to pray and prepare for the day before I get up, rather than “on my way to class-late as usual.” And I’m going to live a more fulfilling, less stressful life- even in the midst of this “busy season.”

Leave a Reply

