Blessed

a humble princess, pursued by the King, in the greatest fairy tale ever written

Let Go and Let God

on January 8, 2014

“Let go and let God” has been one of my favorite non-Bible-verse quotes for the past several months. I used to think it was kind of cheesy, but then I got into a situation where my hands were tied and I had to rely on God. There’s no experience quite like waiting on God, powerless, to make a person realize how much they need Him; how much we all depend on Him.

During the next several months, up until now anyway, I proceeded to get myself into other situations where I had to have faith in a higher power. Like when I decided-in November, with my college graduation a mere month away-to turn down my grad school offer, even though that’s what I’d been planning for several years. And then when I didn’t know what to do, so I interviewed for a job, in a field where I don’t have much of a background-and admitted that during the interviews. And then when I turned down a couple other interviews for jobs I knew I wouldn’t like, while I was waiting to hear back from the only interview I took-because I just wanted that opportunity so bad. I just had to hang tight and wait for God to answer. I was a little antsy, not having any money and all that, but I knew that whatever happened, I’d make it in the world, just maybe not in a direction I thought I’d go. Then I got the job offer and these first couple of days at work have been straight out of a fairy tale.

This past weekend takes the cake on God stories though. I wish I could share all the details, but the story involves more than just myself, so I have to be somewhat vague. I got into a situation that wasn’t very good. It was totally my fault. James 1:14 comes to mind (James 1:13-17 would be the full set of verses), “…but each one is tempted when, by his own evil desire, he is dragged away and enticed…”

I gave someone my word. It was a bad idea. It was my bad idea. I was getting ready to drag others down with me. Then I thought about it, you know, in that time when a person’s mind wanders while they’re waiting to fall asleep, and I wanted to back out. My thoughts sometimes give no glory to God, and even though I have no doubt about my love for Him and his people, I fail to live the way I know I should, often, in so many little ways. My hands were tied, because I have a reputation for holding true to my word, and I can’t lose that. So I just prayed and prayed and prayed. I couldn’t see the way out, but I knew that God could save me in His own way. 1 Corinthians 10:13 tells us, “No temptation has seized you except what is common to man. And God is faithful; He will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. but when you are tempted, He will also provide a way out so that you can stand up under it.”

The next morning, I got my answer. God had worked in ways that I can’t even wrap my head around, and He got me out of what could have been a very bad situation. As it is, it’s still not a good situation, and I’m still in a position of praying prayers of, “not my will, but Yours be done, in Your time, and in Your way.” 

Jesus taught that faith can do anything, and believing is everything. So when you pray a prayer-even if you can’t see how it could ever happen-you just have to believe. Not every answer is a “Yes,” but every answer is for our good, motivated by His love for us, and designed to make us more holy and more aware of His presence and power.

So I don’t complain when I mess up and depend on God to fix it. In those moments, I am able to point to a specific event and give all the glory to Him. And I’m able to witness more effectively. After all, we’re all sinners and we’re all equally loved in His eyes, and when I mess up and I’m vulnerable in my imperfections, I get an opportunity to show others that God really does, in fact, love sinners. Because He loves me. 

5 responses to “Let Go and Let God

  1. nicolepatt says:

    Shannon, it’s so inspiring to read about your faith and your God experiences. Keep up the awesome writing!

Leave a Reply

