Blessed

a humble princess, pursued by the King, in the greatest fairy tale ever written

Delight yourself in the Lord…

on January 21, 2014

“Delight yourself in the Lord, and He will give you the desires of your heart.” – Psalm 37:4

There have been many verses on my heart in 2014 (Isaiah 43:18-19 being the most prominent-but that’s another blog), but this verse sums up what has happened to me in the past week. This verse comes from Psalm 37 and is preceded by, “Trust in the Lord and do good; dwell in the land and enjoy safe pasture.” And the verses that follow are, “Commit your way to the Lord; trust in Him and He will do this: He will make your righteousness shine like the dawn, the justice of your cause like the noonday sun. Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for Him…”

I can’t honestly say I’ve been “still.” I’m moving all the time. But I have been patient, compared to my former self, and I’ve been practicing, “Lord, not my will but Yours be done.” And I’ve certainly been delighting in Him. I actually Googled “delight verb” to make sure that I’ve been doing that, and here’s what I found, “to give someone great pleasure or satisfaction.” 

At first, I was like, “Uh oh. How am I giving God great satisfaction? That song, ‘Jesus, Friend of Sinners’ totally describes my life, how can I give Him great pleasure?” But then I realized this verse is talking about delighting myself in the Lord, and I was like, “Phew. I did that. I’m doing that.”

Because I have been depending on Him. Because He brought me up from the dark dark place I was in. And I love Him so much, and I want to tell the world about Him. I could use some help loving His people, though, at times. I’m not sure I did that very well this weekend-more on that later.

I’m in a position right now where it’s easy for me to be happy with God. I have a job I love, I have very strong, Christ-centered friendships, and I rest soundly knowing that my life is in His hands. Because I’ve submitted to Him and not made “solid plans” for myself, I have found that He’s putting everything together, and it’s better than I imagined it would be. (And, I am getting all of this as a “single lady”-which is phenomenal because my whole life, I thought I would have to marry into an old farmstead in the country. Let me tell you: it’s so awesome getting this privilege all on my own-well, through God, of course, who is the Giver of all good things (James 1:17)).

This weekend, I had a chance to talk to someone I hadn’t seen in several months. I took that chance, and I think it was 40 minutes well spent. But I don’t think I shared Jesus very well. Because…while I gave this person my blog address, I didn’t bring up Jesus in our actual face to face conversation. I’ve found that I get a little “clammy” when it comes to talking to new people about my story, and it was even harder to think about because this person has only known me as a non-Christian. I’m very hopeful that he at least noticed something changed…

So I asked God for forgiveness and that He could use me anyway. I told Him that I wouldn’t miss that chance again; He’s in the process of giving me literally everything I’ve ever wanted in my life-the very least I can do is tell people why I’m happy, what He’s done for humanity, and how I’ve changed since knowing Him. How much better my life is, and how I’m satisfied in all  things…..

Not 24 hours later, a person I don’t know very well asked me about the tattoo on my wrist: It’s an image of a heart with a cross coming out of it and the words, “in Christ alone” And with a slightly shaky voice, I did share my testimony. It was a slightly abbreviated version-good practice for my upcoming baptism-but a thorough testimony, nonetheless. This discussion led to further questions about what I believe and what I base those beliefs on, and then, “I’d like to come to church with you sometime, if that’s okay.” 

I think of all the things He’s done for me, and I just wonder, “why me?” What a merciful God I love. I’m so lucky, so blessed, that He saved me when I’ve done nothing at all to deserve it. I hope I can do a better job of representing Him in all circumstances, even when I’m uncomfortable-especially when I’m uncomfortable.

2 responses to “Delight yourself in the Lord…

  1. Diane says:

    I learned last week that the Hebrew meaning for the term “be still” is to “let down the hands.” So yes, when we quit trying to orchestrate our lives, we will know He IS God! :). Glad God gave you a second chance to share your faith! Sounds like you hit it out of the park!

  2. nicolepatt says:

    Awesome post, Shannon!

Leave a Reply

