Blessed

a humble princess, pursued by the King, in the greatest fairy tale ever written

Weeding the garden

on June 13, 2014

After a stressful week, and particularly a tough day today, I came directly home after work. Spending time outside on one of the most beautiful days so far this year turned out to be just what I needed. I got to watch the sun set and also the full moon rise. 

Before either of these, I spent some quality time weeding my garden. By hand, of course, picking out every stem of grass I could find. And while I was bustin’ my butt, my cat and 2 kittens were playing in the tall grass around the edge of my yard. My dog however, was “helping me” in the garden. 

Every time I crouched down, there she was, right smack in the way. Every step I took, she took with me. And who doesn’t love a devoted dog? Of course I reached down to pet her and hug her, but there were also a few times where I kind of pushed her out of the way. And occasionally, she would leave my side and go to the edge of the plot and watch me. And if I called her over to me, she came right away. 

Isn’t that what it’s like to have a relationship with Jesus? He’s always there. Sometimes we hug Him and do spend quality time with Him.  Other times we think He’s in our way, or we push Him away. But He never leaves us. He might give us the space that we need, but whenever we call on Him, He will always come back. He’s always there.  

Today I had one of those life-altering instances that draws me closer to Him, brings me to a place where I realize how much I need Him, depend on Him. I had asked for it, but of course, when that moment came, it did bring my whole day down. But I know that no matter what happens, no matter the outcome, it will be okay, and in fact, whatever happens will be for my good, even if I can’t see it now. And I’m clinging to Him and He’s there for me, even if I pushed Him away yesterday. Jesus is the same today, yesterday, and forever; He doesn’t change like the shifting shadows (Hebrews 13:8 & James 1:17). 

Leave a Reply

