Blessed

a humble princess, pursued by the King, in the greatest fairy tale ever written

A good man

on July 8, 2014

I hope you’re sitting down for this big news….

A few weeks ago, I went on a date. A real date. A date where I wasn’t confused about what it was, it wasn’t just me and a few friends, it wasn’t just me agreeing to supper with someone just so I can get him to leave me alone. It was a real-live date. Where a man asked me out to supper and then planned it.

And it was pretty awesome. Probably because I’m extremely picky and demanding about the type of people I’ll spend time with. (I had to learn all that the hard way.)

Anyway, it was basically the most magical of all nights and potentially one of the most important days of my life. You see, all this time, my friends & family told me I’d never meet someone who had all the things on my “list.” But this guy – he went above and beyond. He had all the superficial things I’m into, plus all the things I’ve always wanted but could never find in a guy! He’s got the qualities of my whole list (probably). Basically, he’s very manly and oh boy, was that ever exciting for me.

He was so manly that he was nice to me and actually made conversation a few times after that night, even though there was no further date. He was even so kind as to be honest with me – he brought up the reason he hadn’t asked me out again and explained it to me, and I give him so much credit for doing that.

Basically, he’s way too perfect (in my eyes) to be real.

But there’s one important thing – the most of all -that I haven’t found out about him yet. As much as I love Jesus and try to incorporate God into many conversations with people, I found myself stuttering on this evening. I found myself thinking about it, and then swerving around it. I never brought up how important my relationship with God is, nor did I ask him about his relationship. To be honest, I really was just trying to focus on not scaring him away or ruining anything.

And here’s the thing – I am not all that sad that it’s “not working out” (right now). For one thing, I am confident that God will truly give me the desires of my heart. Right now, I’m a free spirit in every form. Honestly, I have a small concern that someday, I’m just going to load my truck and trailer and literally drive off into the sunset. Like, without a plan. That’s the kind of person I am. And I love my freedom.

Another thing I’m confident about is that there are good Christian men out there. I may not know any (who are single), but I know they are there. And now that I had this super monumental date (basically, I was excited about it and I had fun, and that literally never happens when I think about dating!), I realize that there are good men out there. Manly men who possess good and manly qualities. And even if the only manly man in my life on Earth is God, I know that’s more than enough. But… if there is someone out there to compliment my lifestyle and do fun things with, I’m okay with that too.

Basically the point of this blog is to spread hope and joy that good men do exist! (And I’m only 23, so I’m not talking about an old dude here.) But I think if I go on a date again sometime (like in another couple of years, ha ha ha), I will probably make sure the other person knows early on where I stand. In my last relationship, I wasn’t clear about anything, and that went down a pretty bad road – because I was excited and got swept away. And I keep thinking, “That could have happened again!” So I think maybe God is saving me for something better in my life, when I’m ready. 🙂

One response to “A good man

  1. Congratulations.

    Blessings in your future!

Leave a Reply

